Our school has a unique name that comes from a Native American legend about Princess Wawaloam who is buried under the rock and the oak tree that stand at the southwest side of the school. When the school land was deeded to the town by the Metcalf family, Mrs. Metcalf requested that the large rock on the site never be moved. To this day the rock sits embedded firmly in the ground with the stately oak tree by its side.
—from the Wawaloam School website (2006).
In the late 1800s a farmer named William M. Bailey had this boulder on his farm inscribed to honor Wawaloam. While the site is listed as a cemetery in the Rhode Island Historical Cemeteries Database, she's not buried here. The inscription reads: WAWALOAM, WIFE OF MIANTONOMI, 1661.
The Exeter Historical Association offers a short article about this monument here.
The Aspanansuck Markers, commemorating Miantonomi and Wawaloam, and the village where they lived, were dedicated in 1923.
The Exeter Historical Association offers a short article about these markers here.